Skip to content

Shortlist announced for Morpeth’s business awards

Shortlist announced for Morpeth’s business awards
« Back to news

Shortlist announced for Morpeth’s business awards

21 September 2017

 More than 20 local businesses are in the running for the town’s annual Heart of Morpeth Awards which are due to take place next month.

The awards were launched last year to celebrate everything the town has to offer and to recognise some of the fantastic businesses and individuals which make Morpeth the vibrant Market Town it is.

Dozens of entries has been received for seven categories from retailers, cafes and restaurants as well as a host of other businesses and services across the town. The awards have been organised by the Morpeth Town Centre, The Morpeth and District Chamber of Trade and Sanderson Arcade.

The shortlist has now been announced and the winners will be revealed in a glittering award ceremony at Riverside Lodge on Thursday October 19th.  The popular event is sponsored by Cookswell Citroen - Northumberland’s main Citroen dealer.

As well as the categories which have been shortlisted the winner of the coveted title of Business of the Year will be announced on the evening of the awards.

The Tour of Britain Window Display winner will also be announced to recognise the fantastic displays created when the cycle race visited Morpeth earlier this year.

Ken Bown, Chair  of the Town Team, said: “We have had a fantastic response to the awards again this year and some really strong entries.

“Everyone should be extremely proud to have been shortlisted and we look forward to a fantastic evening when the winners are announced next month.”

The full list of individuals and businesses shortlisted are:

Manager of the Year Award 2017 sponsored by Inside Morpeth / Thru Your Door Delivery Service: Sharon Latimer from Hobbs, Laura Anderson of,  Laura Anderson Hair & Beauty, Michelle Heron from JoJo Maman Bebe, Sally Briggs from Seasalt Cornwall and Marie Conroy of Hays Travel

Customer Service Team of the Year 2017 sponsored by The Flag Man: Newgate Dental Solutions, The Pudding Parlour, Next Retail, Laura Anderson Hair and Beauty, Seasalt Cornwall, Hobbs 

Shining Star Individual Award 2017 sponsored by Beach Design: Louise Shiell & Jenny Clark - Pinkys Nail Boutique, Gordon Hakin - Sanderson Arcade Beadle, Laura Anderson – Laura Anderson Hair and Beauty

Emily Wilding Davison Award 2017 sponsored by Carr and Company Solicitors: Jenny Clark – Pinkys Nail Boutique,  Laura Anderson – Laura Anderson Hair & Beauty, Gwen Hezmalhalch - VIP E-Cig Kiosk, Caroline Coppen, Diane Coppen, Terri-Louise Anderson – My Pet HQ, Emma Weston-Jones - Emma Bunting.

Best New Business 2017 sponsored by Cllr Nic Best, Mayor of Morpeth:  Anderson’s Sandwich & Coffee Co, The Great British Curtain Company, My Pet HQ LTD, Lateral Art

Independent Retailer 2017 sponsored by Global Radio: My Pet HQ LTD, Cafe Des Amis, The Pudding Parlour, VIP E-Cig Kiosk, Laura Anderson Hair and Beauty.

Community Engagement Award/ Project 2017 sponsored by WCRS:  My Pet HQ, Pinky’s Nail Boutique and SA Beadles.

Picture shows the winners from last year's event.  


For further information, contact:-

Public Relations Department, Dransfield Properties Ltd
Tel: 01226 360644


Share this page